Please note you can't hide your online. You might have set your privacy settings to not share your last seen.
The bug in WhatsApp is preventing users from watching the ‘Last Seen’ status or if they are ‘Online’. HT Tech tried to change the Privacy settings from within the app and was unable to do so. As soon as you enter the ‘Privacy’ option, the Android version of WhatsApp shows an error message stating ‘Failed to update privacy settings, please try again later.’ The same happened on iOS as well.
I was fairly surprised when I was told to write an article about this topic. Hence, to avoid being a Captain Obvious, I messaged some of my friends to see if they knew what the WhatsApp Online Status means. The Truth About WhatsApp Online Status: It Doesn’t Mean Someone is Reading Your Message.
Where does the online status of a person appear? The online status of the person is listed below their name in their chat window. The online status on WhatsApp indicates that the user is currently using the app. Even if the user is simply on the chats page and scrolling through various chats, the user will be displayed online. The app will show a user online only if they are actively using the app. If you close the app or even minimize it to open another app, you will go offline on WhatsApp.
Can you appear online on WhatsApp when you are not? Who can see if I’m online on WhatsApp? Users that you have not added yet will not be able to view your online status unless they have messaged you.
WhatsApp does not notify users when someone views their online status or even their chats. However, if you are viewing a person’s last seen status, that means you are currently on the app and will show up as ‘Online’.
When you turn off the ‘Last seen’ status on your account, users will no longer be able to view the ‘Last seen’ notification under your name. You, in turn, will no longer be able to view other users’ ‘Last seen’ status either.
However, this setting does not affect the user’s online status. It should be noted that Read receipts cannot be turned off for Group chats on WhatsApp.
To check someone’s online status without opening their chat, launch the WhatsApp app, and locate the chat in the list. For WhatsApp to display your online status you must be actively using the app.
Does WhatsApp Web keep your status online even if the mobile app is closed? WhatsApp Web will keep your online status active even if you close the mobile app on your phone.
I tap the screen once, twice, before my face flushes red with anger, jealousy and everything else you feel when you discover you're being cheated on. It wasn't the first time I'd checked my lover's WhatsApp 'last seen' timestamp, and it wasn't the last time, either. The feature shows the very last time a person was online on the app, and -- when checked early enough -- can give you an insight into how late a person stayed up the night before.
How could it be that four digits could mean so much to a relationship? Each time WhatsApp confirmed my suspicions, I felt ill. At the same time, my best friend Ellie was embroiled in a relationship with a guy whose behaviour was arousing her suspicions.
WhatsApp is getting something of a reputation for itself. "If you don’t have trust in your relationship both online and offline, then then it’s not a healthy relationship and you should think about calling it quits instead of staring at his or her 'last seen' timestamp," Spira told Mashable.
Some find the Whatsapp feature useful, others think it's torture. "Now, not only do we know they've got our message but we can also see when they were last seen online, which adds serious salt to the wound when you've been waiting for a reply to a message you carefully crafted 24 hours ago. I used it for friends in Turkey after the terror attacks there, and friends in Paris after those attacks," Swain told Mashable. And, if I haven't been online before 10:00 she texts me to check I'm still OK," says Bardrick.
This begs the question: Why are we now measuring people's activities and wellbeing against their 'last seen' statuses, rather than their IRL behaviour? Whether you love it or loathe it, this digital obsession can provide a valuable and accurate insight at a time when you need it the most.
You cannot sneak out of arrangements so easily these days, if you someone has messaged you on WhatsApp, they know when you have read it and they know when you are online and able to reply. Online and ‘last seen’ tell you if your contacts are online, or the last time they were actually using WhatsApp.
According to the WhatsApp ‘last seen’ refers to the last time the contact used WhatsApp. Through WhatsApp privacy settings, you have the option to control who can see your ‘last seen’ – but they warn that you cannot hide if you’re online.
Anyone who is familiar with the app, knows the idea behind last seen, profile photo, about, status, or read receipts. But, thanks to the app’s privacy settings, users are able to hide one or more of the information mentioned above. If you are not able to see any contact’s last seen, profile photo, about, status, or read receipts you may directly jump to the conclusion that you have been blocked, by that person.
If you are in an area where the internet connection is poor, the app may be unable to fetch information including last seen, profile photo, about, status, or read receipts.
Here is exactly how accurate the last seen status is on WhatsApp, Instagram and Facebook – so you know which app you can truly rely on to tell you if you're being ghosted. When we tested the feature – making sure the app was completely closed on all devices, the last seen on WhatsApp changed instantly. Mainly because it is thought if you leave the app or site open, it will still show you as being "active now" even though you are not physically browsing within it.
They claim Facebook says users are online when devices have been switched off or put away to charge. A quick test of it for ourselves proved that Facebook is extremely slow at updating its last seen feature.
• I put all my exes in a group chat and watched all hell break loose.
WhatsApp Messenger is a free-to-use, cross-platform messaging and Voice over IP service which is now owned by Facebook. Users are always finding tricks and methods to stay hidden even while messaging on this app. Also read | Disney Plus Hotstar VIP Subscription Price Reduced Ahead Of IPL, Find Out.
Once you are out of the WhatsApp, turn back on your connectivity and the messages will be sent without showing to them your "typing" status. Also read | Amazon Alexa App Is Finally Available In Hindi For Android And IOS. Also read | Paytm Removed From Google Play Store For Violating Guidelines; Statement Issued.