To help keep potential drama at bay, WhatsApp lets you delete questionable messages before the other person even sees them. If you're on the receiving end and you're curious about the deleted text, however, there's an Android app that lets you view erased messages. After granting the app permission to access your phone's files, a "Notification Lister Service" prompt will immediately appear.
The app will automatically notify you of any deleted messages, which you can preview straight from the notification bar.
WhatsApp recently rolled out the "Delete for Everyone" feature, allowing users to recall sent messages in individual or group chats within seven minutes. The team at Spanish blog Android Jefe claimed that WhatsApp "deleted" sent messages can still be found on the recipient's phone.
Android users need to download "Notification History" app and allow the permissions for it to access the deleted messages. In addition, users can find the messages in the system's notification log without any third-party app if they use third-party Android launchers.
They can access it by long pressing on "Home Screen", and selecting Widgets > Activities > Settings > Notification Log.
The Facebook-owned platform has more than 2 billion users worldwide and offers end-to-end encrypted chatting experience. However, because of its popularity, the messaging app is also used by malicious actors to spread misinformation and some even try to gain access to your user account.
It is a layer of additional security that acts like a password for your WhatsApp account. You will receive a six-digit verification code via SMS that WhatsApp reads and logs you in automatically.
In case the hacker activates the two-step verification after gaining access to your WhatsApp account, you will be asked to enter that code.
3 WhatsApp is a very safe platform but it can't always be 100% watertight Credit: Alamy Live News. The default setting of images and videos you're sent being automatically downloaded to your phone is not always a good idea.
Photos can act like a 'Trojan horse' and contain code that allows hackers to hijack your phone. WhatsApp recently added a feature that lets you send texts that vanish after a set amount of time. Third, if a self-destructing text is forwarded to a chat with disappearing messages turned off, it won't be deleted.
Thankfully, you can turn this feature off in WhatsApp Settings by going to Data and Storage Usage. After a number of tweaks the app was released with a messaging component in June 2009, with 250,000 active users.
It was originally free but switched to a paid service to avoid growing too fast. Viral WhatsApp text crashes your phone and forces you to delete app.
Apple might have accidentally leaked what its rumoured over-ear headphones look like via an icon in a software test. And, Netflix has introduced a new "Fast Laughs" feature, which shows you short funny clips from some of its best content.
While WhatsApp has no official feature that will let you read deleted messages, there is a simple hack for this. You need to head to the Google Play Store and download an app that helps you keep a tab on notification history. The paid version comes for ₹65/month so you need to decide if these deleted messages are important enough for you to spend that money every month. Besides this, apps like Notisave can only recover simple text messages, any media file including GIFs, images, and videos cannot be retrieved.
Though WhatsApp has no official feature that lets you retrieve messages that have been deleted, this hack will surely help you and you can read those deleted messages which your friends didn't want you to read! Go to Google Play Store and download an app that can keep a tab on notification history.
The Notisave app will need access to read notifications, photos, media, and files, and toggle the auto-start option. Once that's done, the app will start keeping a log of every notification you've received, including WhatsApp messages. Deleted media files, including GIFs, images, and videos, cannot be recovered or retrieved.
It’s a brave new world in this digital era, with more data stored electronically and flowing across the internet than — not too long ago — it would be possible to consume in several lifetimes. For most people, digital is now a way of life — everything from shopping and banking to working, organizing, researching and entertaining is accomplished through an electronic device.
Electronic security is essential, and aside from password protection and encryption, data deletion is a common way to remove information that shouldn’t fall into other hands. But did you know that simply deleting files from your hard drive, or emails and web content through your browser, is not enough to actually get rid of the data? If a hacker gains remote access to your hard drive — a very common method for stealing private information — they can use simple file restoration programs to get it all back. Immense caching — a storage system that saves all content and previous versions — through major search engines like Google ensures that the digital collective is preserved constantly. When you delete email messages (and empty your “Trash” folder), it may seem like there’s no way to get that data back, but that isn’t entirely true. However, email ISPs keep backup copies of client inboxes, and in some cases these deleted messages can be retrieved, usually through a court order.
Making deleted data practically inaccessible from hard drives on your computer or smartphone is not an impossible task. For computers, you can use a wiping program that “scrubs” or overwrites all of the unused data spaces on your hard disk where your deleted files used to be.
It has even overshadowed SMS, as the user doesn’t have to worry about character count anymore. It connects to your cellphone number, so you’ll appear to the other users under the same name they assigned you in their contacts list.
Now that you’ve discovered ways to figure out if your account got hacked, it’s time to learn how to take action. Remember, you’ll want to act quickly to protect your private information and regain control of your account. One of the newest scams we’ve seen in 2021 is hackers asking for a verification code while pretending to be your contact.
Due to the nature of WhatsApps’ security features, all you need is a phone number and verification code to log in. That’s why one of the first things you’ll want to do is send a message to your friends and family, letting them know that you’ve lost access to your account. Another reason you’ll want to let your contacts know you have no access to your WhatsApp account is that they may fish for your personal information. From your banking number to your email address, hackers will cleverly attempt to gain as much access to your personal information as possible. While this may seem a little odd, one of the methods hackers are using is verification codes to lock you out so they can gain access. The only problem with this method is that it gets based on the server you’re connected to, and VPNs also send the wrong location information.
Regardless, location details can be a surefire sign of an unauthorized user in your account, mainly when you verify where you’ve logged in based on what your device sends in the way of information. In most cases, we unknowingly give hackers access to our devices when we open an infected message or some other piece of content sent from a suspicious source. If you find out you’ve been hacked before someone asks you about strange activity from your account, be sure to tell them and post it on as many social networks as you possibly can. In all likelihood, you aren’t the main target of these attacks, at least if you’re not giving away too much information on social media.
Also, don’t forget to take preventive action, such as locking WhatsApp, just for the sake of security.