If you're wondering whether you can get rid of your Facebook account while still staying in touch with friends via Facebook Messenger, then the answer is yes. Open Facebook's deactivate account page.

The last option says you can continue using Facebook Messenger even if you deactivate your account. That's how you can get rid of Facebook without losing any of your data and continue to keep in touch with your friends. Open the app and enter your phone number.

Why and How to Deactivate Facebook (but Keep Messenger)

Why and How to Deactivate Facebook (but Keep Messenger)

While Facebook has the benefit of keeping one in contact with family and friends, news feeds are often a waste of productivity and paint an inaccurate picture of what is actually happening in people’s lives. When we scroll through our Facebook news feeds, we see pictures and updates on everyone’s seemingly perfect lives.

But think about it: when you share or post something on social media, it is generally something positive about yourself. If everyone is giving off a positive perception of themselves on social media, where is the negative stuff?

Log into the Facebook site on your computer; go to Settings, General and then select Edit in the Manage Account section. Close the pop-up guilt-trip, and then ensure that “Opt out of receiving messages on Messenger” is NOT checked.

Note that these instructions are current at the time of this posting (updated 4/3/2018). You’ll find yourself more productive, and you might start to communicate more directly with the people you care about the most.

After all, when you don’t see what’s on their Facebook timeline anymore, you have to ask questions, listen and share in person to know what’s going on. Many of us are more likely to share both positive and negative in person with trusted individuals.

Eventually, I went back to Facebook and Twitter, but found myself much less likely to even open them except to update pages and accounts related to my writing and business ventures.

How to temporarily deactivate Facebook account: Know steps

How to temporarily deactivate Facebook account: Know steps

These are some steps you can follow to temporarily deactivate your Facebook account | Picture for Representation. Facebook is a popular social media platform where millions of its users daily post their views, photos and videos on their Facebook profile or page.

Follow these simple steps to temporarily deactivate your Facebook account. Step 3: Here, you have to scroll down and tap Account Ownership and Control under Your Facebook Information.

How to Deactivate or Delete Facebook Messenger

How to Deactivate or Delete Facebook Messenger

In the wake of Facebook’s massive data breach scandals, it’s no wonder users feel inclined to delete Facebook Messenger and their account; the harvesting of user data, and the Cambridge Analytica scandal have crushed Facebook’s stock price and left users fearing for their privacy. It ranks poorly in our secure messaging app list because it tracks your behaviour, lacks a default encryption option, and doesn’t encrypt your past conversations.

Read about how to use social media cautiously and make your data as private as possible here. The following Messenger deactivation steps apply to both the iOS and Android platforms:.

The only solution would be to turn your chat off by hiding your status and disabling notifications. Log into Facebook, and click on the small arrow in the top right corner. Once the deletion process begins, you won’t be able to reactivate your account or retrieve any of the content you’ve added to Facebook.

Before confirming that you want to delete your Facebook account, however, you’ll be given the option to download your photos and posts. Choosing to delete Facebook Messenger is a great first step in securing your privacy on social media.

Can you delete Facebook but keep Messenger?

Can you delete Facebook but keep Messenger?

This means, your account won’t reactivate but still you will remain in contact with your friends using Messenger. Select ‘Your Facebook Information’ and further click on the option ‘Deactivation and Deletion'.

Further, from several options, choose a reason for leaving Facebook and then click ‘Continue’. In the end, close the pop-up and de-select the option ‘Opt out of receiving messages on Messenger’ and then click ‘Deactivate’. Sign in to the app with the same email ID and password that you used for the Facebook account. Now your friends will be able to contact you through the Messenger app or the Facebook’s chat window. If you have given the permission to Facebook to access your camera then the green dot next to the video icon will always be switched on while you are active on Messenger.

Quitting Facebook: What Happens When You Deactivate?

Quitting Facebook: What Happens When You Deactivate?

Frustrated by privacy changes or perhaps simply overwhelmed by the non-stop online chatter, Facebook users sometimes say it's time to go cold turkey. But Peter Rojas, co-founder of the popular user-generated gadget site gdgt, announced on Twitter that he was actually going to cut the cord.

Rojas said that though he never expected others in the tech community to respond to his action, he thinks the Facebook privacy issue is a big one. Maybe someone at Facebook thought it might be a clever way to bid departing users farewell, he said, but it "just seems kind of weird to be so almost pathetic.

But according to the tech blog Search Engine Land, more and more people seem to be at least curious about how to delete their Facebook pages. According to Google, suggested search topics are based on the queries of others and are determined algorithmically without human intervention.

People often deactivate for temporary reasons and expect their content and information to be there for them when they return," a Facebook spokesman said in a statement. But if a Facebook user really wants to make the separation permanent, she can choose to delete the account altogether. "Because deletion is irreversible, this allows people who mistakenly submitted a request to let us know so we can cancel it," the Facebook spokesman said.

Still, despite user complaints and possible curiosity about leaving the site, industry watchers say Facebook appears to be attracting even more people. "One concern at this point is that Facebook can do so many changes that eventually people get fed up and delete their accounts, or at least stop using the site regularly," he said.

How to delete Facebook but keep Messenger

How to delete Facebook but keep Messenger

Can you delete Facebook but keep Messenger? There is no way to completely delete a Facebook account but keep Messenger.

Instead, you can deactivate your account and then continue using Messenger to keep in touch with friends. Here’s how to deactivate your Facebook account but continue using Messenger:.

Until you turn off receiving messages, you can continue to use the Messenger mobile app to keep in touch with friends and family.

How to temporarily deactivate your Facebook account

How to temporarily deactivate your Facebook account

You can temporarily deactivate your Facebook account without permanently deleting it. Find your "Settings & Privacy" using the menu icon in the bottom right corner Credit: Screenshot: facebook.

Under "Account" tap "Personal and Account Information". Tap "Personal and Account Information" under your "Account" settings Credit: SCREENSHOT: FACEBOOK. Read the onscreen info, make sure "Deactivate account" is selected, and tap "Continue to account deactivation".

According to Facebook, when you deactivate your account:. Some information, like messages you sent to friends, may still be visible.

You’ll then be able to deactivate your account without deactivating the Page.

How to deactivate Facebook Messenger on your phone and stop

How to deactivate Facebook Messenger on your phone and stop

Once you've deactivated your account, you can reactivate it by logging back into Messenger or Facebook. Visit Insider's Tech Reference library for more stories. Although they're separate apps now, Messenger is still heavily connected to Facebook.

Open the Facebook app and tap the three stacked lines in the bottom-right (iPhone) or top-right (Android). Enter your Facebook password and confirm that you want to deactivate your account. Open the Messenger app and tap your profile picture in the top-left corner.

Scroll down to tap Legal & Policies, and then Deactivate Messenger. If you ever want to reactivate your accounts, just open the app and log back in. An easier method is to disable your "Active Status" on Messenger.

Open the Messenger app and tap your profile picture in the top-left corner.

Related Posts

Leave a reply